Meet The Directors

Paul A. Bennett

Originally from the Montreal, Quebec area, Paul earned both B.SC. and Dip.Ed. degrees from
McGill University. He has lived in nine Canadian cities and worked in seven, in three Canadian
provinces. Paul has direct experience operating school, line haul, and charter buses and
motorcoaches. With experience in non-commissioned leadership roles in the military, as a
teacher, a software developer, a customer support and training agent, a manager, a technical
marketing manager, a project manager, a bus operator, and dispatcher, Paul has travelled
extensively through Canada, the United States, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East,
experiencing a wide variety of public transportation offerings, cultures, and geographies. His
marriage to a wonderful, dynamic deafblind woman, Penny, has provoked a keen interest in
accessibility issues, particularly as they relate to transportation systems and the use of guide
dogs. An unabashed rail fan, Paul is also a member of the Bytown Railway Society.

Bruce Budd

Bruce Budd has been a member of Transport Action for nearly 40 years, served as the Ontario Secretary for eight years and is Past President of Transport Action Canada.  Bruce has organized several community events focusing on transit & passenger rail issues and on voting reform.  Professionally, Bruce worked as a Senior Review Officer with the Pay Equity Commission after having sat for 10 years as a bilingual member on the Pay Equity Hearings Tribunal.  Previous to that he was Director of Finance at OPSEU, a Director of Advertising for a Trust Company and a Bank Credit Officer in Toronto and Quebec City. He holds a B.Comm. from U. of T. and spent one year at the Institut d’études politiques, Paris.

Dick Crawford

Dick Crawford is the  owner and senior project manager with Crawford Building Consultants and also CEO of PKA SoftTouch Corp., a research and development company featuring a painfree microneedle for injections of medication.  Dick has been a train buff since he was a child growing up in New Jersey.

Lucille Frith

Lucille Frith is a mother of three and a retired Registered Nurse who returned to school to learn about Women in Business. She entered the business world as Sales & Marketing Manager for three start-up companies which each became successful.  She lives now in Muskoka where she volunteers her time as President of the Huntsville Train Station Society, Chair of the Committee Promoting Muskoka Rail Travel (CPMRT) and Spokesperson for the Northeastern Ontario Rail Network (NEORN).

David Jeanes

David Jeanes is a retired professional engineer in Ottawa, where he has spent most of his life, except for nine years each in London England and Toronto. He joined Transport 2000 at the time of the first Transcontinental Passenger Train hearings in 1976, and later was president for twelve years, including the re-branding as Transport Action in 2009. He has closely studied high-speed rail, light rail, the history of railways and railway architecture. He has travelled extensively by train all over the world, particularly while working for Nortel for 27 years. He was a participant in the creation of Ottawa’s Light Rail Pilot Project in 2001 and most recently in the provincial inquiry into Ottawa’s LRT problems. He is currently a board member and treasurer for both Transport Action Canada and Transport Action Ontario. Other activities include hosting Zoom events, model railroading, built heritage, family history and the Ottawa Welsh Society.

Terry Johnson

Terry Johnson is an entrepreneur who lives in Chatham, Ontario. He holds a Master’s degree in Politics and Economics from the University of Oxford, and has been involved in transport advocacy for more than a decade. He is currently President of Transport Action Canada.

Peter Miasek

Peter Miasek is a retired chemist who worked over 30 years in the oil industry.  He now lives in Markham and is actively involved in numerous advocacy initiatives for sustainable transportation and improved urban planning.

Tony Rubin

Tony Rubin was born and raised in Montreal and attended McGill University where he obtained a B.Comm. degree. He has lived in Toronto since 1978. He is a CPA, CGA and has served as a Board member and Treasurer of Transport Action Ontario for several years. He is very interested in transportation issues, particularly rail and transit. He enjoys cycling and listening to classical music.

Linda Savory-Gordon

Linda Savory-Gordon is professor emerita and volunteer research associate, NORDIK Institute, Algoma University. She focuses on community-based research/development on rail issues. With the Coalition for Algoma Passenger Trains she advocates for reinstatement of passenger rail on existing rail beds in Northeastern Ontario for economic, social and environmental benefits to First Nations (through whose territories rail lines pass) and settler communities. She is a Secretary of the Board of Mask-wa Transportation Association Inc.

Chris West

Chris is the founder of All Aboard St. Marys (AASM), a non-government organization devoted to improving passenger rail service on the North Main Line between Toronto and London. With the windup of AASM, Chris has joined the Transport Action Board, effective September 30, 2020.

Ken Westcar

Ken enjoyed a 45 year career in marine and rail propulsion systems engineering and marketing. He has travelled on most continents and studied best practice in railway passenger, freight and tourism. These experiences facilitate Ken’s research, report writing and advocacy work for improved intercity bus and rail transportation in his home province of Ontario and across Canada.